Quick Facts

The IIA Awards are one of the oldest and most respected marks of success in the architects and builders community in India, especially since the Institute is the only body of Architects in the country that has been associated with all government bodies, for more than 90 years in the industry. As such, it is a living testimony to the development and growth of Architecture in India.

The Awards were instituted in 1989, and since then have emerged as the most prestigious honors bestowed upon professionals for Excellence in Architecture in India. The IIA Awards aim to encourage, acknowledge, appreciate and honor the significant contributions of member professionals in the field of Architecture.

The Awards are the only ones that are judged by the architects, for architects all over India. Each year, the awards are given in six categories, namely, Residential, Public, Industrial, Landscape Design and Research.

The institute invites its entire community of fellow and member Architects for the awards ceremony, held in different cities every year. The IIA Awards 2011 ceremony was held at Delhi on 5th february, 2011.

Selection Process

The winners of the IIA Awards are chosen by an independent panel of member representatives from each region, who act as jury during the judging process.

Judging Criteria

Winners are selected for recognition based on their work excellence in:

  • Single and Multi-Family Dwellings
  • Buildings  or Complexes
  • Interior Design Projects
  • Landscape Design, and
  • Outstanding Research

Detailed parameters are set out for each area of excellence and candidates are short-listed on this basis, for the final voting process.


Know more about

About IIA Awards 2012