Architect Raj Rewal
Raj Rewal is a Delhi based Architect and the owner of the Raj Rewal Associates. He is one of India’s best known, internationally recognised Architects and who has been in practice for the last 35 years. Educated in Delhi and London, Rewal worked with Michel Ecochard in Paris, before starting his inland practice in Delhi. He excels in combining sophisticated technology with design and using traditional materials, to evoke a sense of history and context to his work.

Apart from being a Gold Medalist from the Indian Institute of Architects, Raj Rewal has received many awards and honours, including the Robert Mathew Award from the Commonwealth Associations of Architects and the "Chevalier des Art des Lettres" award, conferred by the French Government. His architectural firm is acclaimed for its housing projects, urban designs and public buildings, and has also won prestigious national and international competitions.

His design portfolio consists of some of the most prestigious projects in New Delhi, including Pragati Maidan Exhibition Complex, The French Embassy Staff Quarters, Asian Games Village, The British High Commission Housing, The World Bank Regional Mission, The International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biology, and the Parliament Library Complex. On an international level, his firm is credited with the design of the Ismaili Centre, Lisbon, Portugal. A major exhibition on the works was held in New Delhi in 2004 and in Parma, Italy in 2005. There are two comprehensive monographs on Raj Rewal's works.

Architect M R Agnihotri
Prof. Manjit Rai Agnihotri hails from the capital city of Delhi, and notorious amongst his large number of fans as the one who ‘grows as young as he grows old’.

Agnihotri is a graduate in architecture from Delhi Polytechnic, after which he went to West Germany, to gain valuable experience from eminent professors in Architecture. In 1963, he joined the School of Planning and Architecture in New Delhi, where he served in diverse capacities, before being conferred the status of Emeritus Professor. Later, he espoused Vastukala Academy and Architecture Department in CR College in Murthal, Sonipat. In 1991, he was invited by the Integra Group Seismic Services (IGSS) to work on the Uttarkashi Earthquake Projects, which won him the popular title ‘Man of the Mountains’.

Throughout his illustrious career, Agnihotri conducted countless awareness programs, has acted as an advisor to renowned organizations and was later appointed member of the ‘Think Tank’ of India International Centre, New Delhi.


Architect Ajoy Choudhury
Ajoy Kumar Choudhary is the owner of Ajoy Chaudhary & Associates, Delhi, and best known as the very first winner of the ‘Aga Khan Award’ for Excellence in Architecture for Hotel Mughal Sheraton, Agra.

Ajoy Choudhary started his career with the renowned Kanvinde & Rai Architects firm. However, when he got an Italian Government Scholarship in 1958, he worked for 2 years under the aegis of Gio Ponti, the famous modernist architect of Italy. While engaged with Ponti, Choudhary obtained the opportunity to design the IIT-Kanpur campus.

In his return to India, Choudhary rejoined his first company and later served as a Professor to the School of Planning & Architecture, New Delhi. Since 1991, his company has been involved in the planning of prestigious architectural projects, including the new campus of Delhi College of Engineering and Sahar Township in Lucknow. He was also felicitated with the ‘Award for Excellence’ in Built Environment of the Delhi College of Engineering campus, by the Indian Building Congress.

Architect C N Raghavendran
C.N.Raghavendran is a partner of the well-known C. R. Narayana Rao, an ISO 9001-2008 certified firm of reputed architects and engineers, recognized for its contribution in the field of developing eco-sensitive projects. He is a Registered Architect with Council of Architecture, a Fellow of IIA, International Association Member of the American Institute of Architects and also a member of the Governing Council of National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad, India.

Since the beginning of his career, Raghavendran’s focus has been on Sustainable & Environment friendly principles, conducive to intelligent building concepts - much before this became a buzz-word. He is credited with pioneering the concept of pre-cast & pre-stressed buildings using longer span members, which make column-free large structures possible. The technology makes clear views and smooth movements within the structures possible, while significantly reducing the use of structural materials and ensuring speedier project completions.

Raghavendran’s innovative and path-breaking projects are living examples of blending architecture with engineering design principles, which focus on energy efficiencies, occupant’s safety & health and climate & context responsiveness with appropriate technology. Some of his coveted projects include the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium both in Chennai and Cochin, Student Activity Centre in IIT (Chennai) and TIDEL PARK (Chennai). His project Ebene Cyber Tower in Mauritius was awarded the 'Intelligent Building of the Year-2005' by Intelligent Communities Forum, an independent think tank based in New York, among 200 international entries. In 2011 it was also recognised as an energy efficient building.

Raghavendran has several awards to his credit. The Indian Institute of Architecture conferred the ‘Excellence in Design’ award upon Raghavendran in 1995, which was closely followed by ‘Architect of India’ award in 1996, from the then Hon’ble Prime Minister. In 2011 he was felicitated with the coveted Padma Shri title by the Government of India.


Architect Ram Sharma
Prof. Ram Sharma is currently the Chairman - Executive Council, and founder alumni of School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi.

Padma Shri M M Rana
Padma Shri M M Rana was the Founder Dean of the Sushant School of Art & Architecture. He has been awarded the Civic Citation Award of "PADMA SHRI" in 1967 for his design of two pavilions of India, abroad and other projects in New Delhi. He is the only Indian Architect to be a patron of 'The Lutyens Trust'. He is presently Dean-Emeritus of the Sushant School of Art & Architecture. He has also been Fellow of the Indian Institute of Architects since 1970.

Padma Shri J R Bhalla
Padma Shri J R Bhalla served as the former President, Council of Architecture and is also the Founder Member of the National Institute of Urban Affairs. His contribution to architecture is unbelievable. He has brought luster to the profession and he is known for his perfect detailing in all his projects that have attained renown.

Shri Balbir Verma
Balbir Verma graduated from the Chandigarh College of Architecture (CCA) in 1969. At present, he is the Director of UIA Work Programme on Urban Settlements and Disasters, a member of UIA Council from Region - IV, a member of National Advisory Committee of the National Information Center of Earthquake Engineering (NICEE) and a member of the panel of experts of National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) India.

He also serves as the Chairman of Arcasia Committee of Professional Practice (ACPP), and has been a panelist and keynote speaker on the subject of GATS (General Agreement Trade in Services) at WTO (World Trade Organization) with respect to Architectural services and globalization, at various National and International forums.

He has served on various Government Committees and Juries related to Design and Urban Planning, including the Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Town Planning. He is also the former President of The Indian Institute of Architects (IIA).


Know more about

hall of fame 2012